4-11 Where Are You Now?

I didn’t know what to think after Lady Cooper’s visit. Dean really wasn’t Dean? He actually felt something for me? Then, why did he lie? Was he some kind of criminal on the run? Maybe that’s why he left and changed his number. He’s a witch? How was I going to raise witches? I know anything about magic! My mind was in overdrive. But it didn’t really matter, beyond my sons. Not even a witch knew where he was. I had to let it go before it drove me nuts.

I called Ro and filled him on in Lady Cooper’s visit. After some swearing and threats on his part, the conversation ended. Then, I got a text from Skye. She decided to fly to Lucky Palms and meet Harmz there for a two week shopping trip.

I was alone with my kids. I hadn’t been alone with them since they were born. It scared me, to be totally honest. But I had to remember, they are my sons. And that I love them. Even if I’d liked to punch their “Dad” in the crotch.

I decided to paint in my limited spare time. Stress relief. I needed it.

The boys weren’t too badly behaved. Thank God for those darn imaginary friend dolls. Toddlers love them.

One night Blaise showed up at my house. Her and her boyfriend, DeAndre Wolfe, had gotten into a huge fight and broke up. They had been living together and he kicked her out. I told her she could stay with me. Reinforcements with the boys! I didn’t say that part to her, but I was thinking it.

To my shock, Blaise brought her daughter- Kimberly- with her. I had no idea she even had a kid. It didn’t matter though, they were both welcomed into my house.

I had fun loosing to Kimberly at a video game. I hadn’t played in a while.

I thought I was handling things well…..

Until I got woke up by Tyson. I snapped.

“WHY ARE WE SCREAMING?!” I raged. Meanwhile, Tyson sat down in his crib and ignored me.

Blaise heard all the screaming and came into the nursery.

“Raven. Chill and go back to bed, I’ve got the boys.” Blaise told me firmly. I imagine it was the tone she used on Kimberly.

I did as she said. After I apologized to Tyson, who didn’t seem to care either way.

I got up the next morning and my sons were playing with their activity table. Blaise’s work. Then she told me to get out of the house and go do something fun. Something to relieve stress.

I walked around a bit before Marc texted me, asking me how I’ve been. I was actually in his neighborhood, so I stopped by.

We got to talking….

And flirting. I had always been attracted to Marc. But I had been pregnant and then mostly shut up in my house with the triplets. It was bad timing. He admitted he found my attractive.

I don’t know what made me do it, but I did it. I grabbed him and kissed him. Then I pulled back, stunned by myself. I was going to apologize and run away in horror.

But Marc liked what I did. He pulled me back to him.

And into his room…..

I hadn’t been with anyone since “Dean”. And while Marc was someone I’d call a friend, there was no pressure of love, of feelings. It was great.

I was pretty darn happy about it.

“Have fun with Marc?” Blaise asked me later that night, while reading her medical journal.

I almost choked on my cake as my cheeks grew hot at the memories. “You could say that.”

“Mmmhmm.” Was all Blaise said, she knew.

I decided to have a cookout. But I don’t think the Gonzalo grilling skills are strong in me. I burnt the hot dogs. Good thing other people brought food.

But it was fun. And there was a surprise at the end.

I had a feeling those two would get back together. I hadn’t even met DeAndre until that day, but for some reason. I had a feeling.

Though I wasn’t expecting Blaise to propose to the guy. But it’s her life. It made her happy. I was certainly in no place to give relationship advice, that was for sure.

❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧❧

Blaise and Kimberly moved back in with DeAndre. I was actually adjusting to raising the triplets solely by myself. Skye was still shopping with Harmz. I don’t get how you can shop for two weeks, but okay.

Summer was winding down. I was starting to think about what costumes I could get for the boys for Spooky day. They could actually partipate in Christmas. They might not remember it, but I was looking forward to them ripping into their presents by the Christmas tree.

I was busy daydreaming, carrying a load of laundry. I didn’t even hear the door.

I let out a small squeak in surprise and dropped my laundry basket.

“Who are you and what are you doing my house?!” I yelled, going for my house phone to call the police.

“It’s Buffy.” The woman responded.

I blinked as she turned around.

She walked over and stood in front of me. She did look different, like Ro said.

“It’s me….I just…look a bit different.” Buffy said, quietly. She looked to the side.

“Roland told me what happened…” I told her.

She nodded and looked at me. “That’s not why I’m here. The man you know as Dean is in danger.”

I gasped and looked at her. “What kind of danger?” I asked her. Why did I care? I told myself it was because of the boys. It had to be.

“He’s been captured by vampires. They want to use his magic for something, I just don’t know what yet. But they must be doing something to keep him from using his powers to free himself, otherwise we wouldn’t be having this talk right now.” Buffy told me, like she was talking to me about the weather.

Vampires? Well. Everything else seemed to be real, so why not them too.

It was a lot to take in. My head was swimming, I couldn’t focus on just one thought.

I heard the door and looked over, Ro walked in and picked up Tyson.

“I’ll take care of them while you two go to Bridgeport.”

“Bridgeport?” I asked and looked at Buffy. But the boys started crying. It was dinner time. Then it was bath time and bed time. Before I knew it, it was time for sleep.

But I couldn’t sleep yet. I needed more answers. I pulled Buffy into my room.

“Roland is going to watch the boys while we go to Bridgeport to get this man. That is, if you want to help me get him.” Buffy said. She gave me a few moments to think.

Did I want to help get him? I wanted answers. But how was I supposed to help rescue someone from vampires? That sounded really dangerous.

“I know it’ll be dangerous, but I’m ready. I’ve been training for this since I was 15 years old.” Buffy told me.

I was extremely confused, to say the least. Training? Did she need medication?

“I’m a vampire slayer.” She added, my confusion must have been written all over my face.

It took me two seconds before I blurted out something “So you hunt vampires and slay them? Do they sparkle?” I asked, stupidly. I felt like I was in a different form of existence. Nothing made sense.

“They do not sparkle. But yes, basically.” She paused “Vampires are the ones who attacked me. I wasn’t quite ready then.” She said, quietly.

I felt bad for her.

“It is what it is. It can’t be changed. I’m going to rescue him, with or without you. But it’d be easier with you. I need bait.” Buffy told me. “So, are you in?”

I needed time to think. Bait? That did not sound safe. I had to think of my boys. But this was also their Father. Maybe he ran away for a reason? What if something happened to him during all this and I had to tell my sons that I didn’t try to help their Dad?

After not sleeping all night, I went for a run in the morning. I had no idea what I was going to do.

One thought on “4-11 Where Are You Now?

Leave a comment